Head over heels (Conversations Collection)

“When you think about it, the phrase head over heels, it  doesn’t actually make any sense.”

“What do you mean?”

“Well, it’s used to describe feeling topsy turvy right? Not in control. Confused and all that?”

“I suppose.”

“What do you mean ‘you suppose’? It’s a fairly simple question that can be answered with a simple yes or no. ”

“Fine! Yes! What’s your point?”

“The phrase itself doesn’t make sense. Physiologically, you head is above your heels and that is the right state of being.” 

“So?”

“So?! What do you mean ‘so’?!  It’s meaning can only make sense if it were stated the other way around ‘heels over head’!”

“Stop shouting! I’m right here. “

“My bad.”

“Whatever. I still don’t see your point though?”

“That was the point. That the statement is flawed.”

“ I see. “

“You see? That’s all you have to say? Isn’t your mind blown right now?!”

“Yes yes. Mind completely blown. Pieces scattered across the earth. You’ve put Kant to shame. Well done.” 

“The sarcasm isn’t necessary. I just thought it was deep, is all.”

“Uh huh. Deep.”

“Wait a minute, doesn’t the phrase’s origin have something to do with tumbling or summersaults?”

“That’s one way of looking at it I guess. I guess I was talking about it more from the point of view of the phrase being used to describe falling in love.”

“So in the context I’m saying it in, do you kinda agree that the phrase is not as nonsensical as you originally thought it to be?”

“I guess.” 

Sigh

“So do you also  agree that what you said was actually not that deep?”

“I suppose.” 

“Looks like Kant’s reputation shall continue unmolested then, huh?”

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started